Boiga irregularis

Recent News

February 22, 2016
a picture of a brown treesnake climbing down a branch

Brown Treesnakes on Saipan

FORT’s Adam Knox will be featured in a short television broadcast interview with Saipan Channel 2 News, a news article in Marianas Variety, and he and will be featured in a radio interview with KKMP Saipan and another radio interview along with Dr. Bob Reed.

January 19, 2016
Guam. Photo by Lea Bonewell, USGS.

Biologist Discusses Brown Treesnake Rapid Response with Governor Torres of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

FORT Biologist, Adam Knox, met with the governor of the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands on the afternoon of January 19, 2016. During this meeting, they focused on providing his office with background information about the recent Brown Treesnake sighting and information on the survey/monitoring plan going forward. The Governor closed the meeting by thanking us for our efforts and pledging his full support for the inter-agency operation

January 14, 2016
a picture of a brown treesnake climbing down a branch

Biologist Gives Update on Brown Treesnake Rapid Response

On January 14, 2106, Adam Knox, FORT biologist, was interviewed by KKMP Radio Saipan. During this interview, he discussed the team’s status of rapid response, including a new snake report, things the community can do, and descriptive information about Brown Treesnake biology and ecology. Knox stressed the importance of community involvement and the team’s gratitude for the community’s continued support. 

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A method for telemetry-based logging of animal activity
Lardner, B., J.A. Savidge, R.N. Reed, and G.H. Rodda
Journal Article
A novel parasitic flatworm (Spirometra sp.) infection in Brown Treesnakes on Guam
Holldorf, E.T., S.R. Siers, J.Q. Richmond, K.L. Donmoyer, R.N. Reed, L.R. Bonewell
2013 Abstract
A state-of-the-art trap for the brown treesnake [Chapter 20]
Rodda, G.H., T.H. Fritts, C.S. Clark, S.W. Gotte, and D. Chiszar
1999 Book, Pages in
An integrated management plan for the brown treesnake (Boiga irregularis) on Pacific islands [Chapter 35]
Campbell, E.W., III, G.H. Rodda, T.H. Fritts, and R.L. Bruggers
1999 Book, Pages in

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Barnhart Patrick 671-355-4014 pbarnhart@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Bonewell Lea 970-226-9353 bonewelll@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Falk Bryan 305-242-7820 bfalk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Hinkle Thomas 671-355-4014 thomas_hinkle@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reed Robert 970-226-9464 reedr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Rodda Gordon 970-226-9471 roddag@usgs.gov Volunteer Invasive Species Science
Savidge Julie jsavidge@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Invasive Species Science
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Viernes Marijoy 671-355-4014 mviernes@usgs.gov Contractor - Student Services Invasive Species Science
Yackel Adams Amy 970-226-9489 yackela@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science