Community Events

Seminars, conferences, and presentations involving Fort Collins staff.

Jun 27, 2014

An Introduction to the DOI Strategic Sciences Group Brown Bag

Speaker: 

Kris Ludwig, of the USGS Natural Hazards Mission Area, Reston, VA

Jul 8, 2014

Lessons from tegu lizard natural history for confronting their invasion in North America

Speaker: 

Dr. Lee Fitzgerald, Texas A & M University

Aug 22, 2014

PAH Parking Lot Sealants by Barbara Mahler

Speaker: 

Barbara Mahler

Jan 15, 2015
Maps outlining the probability of Tamarix at Havasu National Wildife Refuge.Image Credit: Arizona Ecological Forecasting Team.

Mapping Tamarisk Invasion Distribution with Landsat 8 Imagery at Havasu National Wildlife Refuge: Needles, California

Speaker: 

Amanda West and Steve Chignell, Colorado State University, NASA DEVELOP Graduate Students

Oct 15, 2015
North American Climate Event

North American Climate Over the Last 2 kya: A Multiproxy Approach Towards Synthesis

Speaker: 

Greg Pederson, Nick McKay, and the PAGES North American 2k group 

Apr 20, 2016
Women in STEM meeting flyer

Women in STEM Roundtable

Speaker: 

Emily Fischer - Assistant Prof. Department of Atmospheric Sciences

Nancy Irlbeck - Director Master of Agriculture, Animal Nutritionist

Jill Baron - Senior Research Ecologist, Natural Rescouce Ecology Lab

Apr 21, 2016

The 4th Annual IGNITE Biodiversity Event

Speaker: 

Megan Vahsen, mlvahsen@gmail.com, GDPE

Phil Cafaro, philip.cafaro@colostate.edu, Philisophy

Ruth Hufbauer, ruth.hufbauer@colostate.edu, Bioagricultural Sciences & Pest Management

Shifra Goldenberg, Shifra.Goldenberg@colostate.edu, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Walter S. Andriuzzi, Walter.Andriuzzi@colostate.edu, Biology

Drew Bennett, drew.bennett@colostate.edu, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Charlotte Alster, alsterc@rams.colostate.edu, GDPE

Adam Dillon, adamdillon@hotmail.com, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Rachal Buxton, rbuxton@mun.ca, Fish, Wildlife and Conservation Biology

Lisa Mason, lisa.mason@colostate.edu, Colorado State Forest Service

Justin Lee, justinlee337@gmail.com, Vet School

Amy Yackel Adams, yackela@usgs.gov, USGS 

Apr 29, 2016

How to Adjust Bicycle Derailleurs

Speaker: 

Presented by the legendary Larry Dawson,

Professional Bike Mechanic

Apr 29, 2016

Many Years, Many Rivers - Insights into the Patterns of Stream Metabolism in the U.S.

Speaker: 

Ted Stets, Emily Stanley, Bob Hall, Jordan Read, and Alison Appling

May 9, 2016 to May 13, 2016
Geomorphological study in Montana. USGS photo.

Geomorphic Analysis of Fluvial Systems

Speaker: 

Faith Fitzpatrick, Jonathan Friedman, Allen Gellis, and Jim O’Connor