Wyoming

Recent News

October 18, 2016
Flying Greater Sage-grouse. Photo by T. Gettleman, USGS.

Increase in Domestic Energy Production Contributing to Sage-grouse Population Declines

A new study used the annual counts of male sage-grouse at communal breeding sites in Wyoming to measure population size over time in relation to the density of oil and gas wells. These data determined that Greater Sage-grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) populations in the state declined 2.5 percent annually between 1984 and 2008, with the rise in domestic energy production contributing to the decline.

March 24, 2016
An observer counting male Greater sage-grouse at a lek site in Wyoming. Photo by tom Christiansen..

New Paper Compares Lek Count Protocols for Monitoring Greater Sage-grouse Population Trends

Annual counts of male Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) displaying at lek sites are an important resource for monitoring populations of this species, but seasonal and diurnal variation in lek attendance may increase variance and bias of trend analyses.

March 7, 2016
Green River Valley, Wyoming. Photo by Donald Ohlen, USGS.

Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative Research Recently Featured on NASA Landsat Blog

Research conducted by FORT Scientists Tim Assal and Pat Anderson in the Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative was recently featured on the NASA Landsat Program’s Science Blog. In a recent paper in the journal Forest Ecology and Management, Assal et al. (2016) document the effect of multiple droughts on the condition of forest along the shrubland ecotone using a long-term series of satellite observations.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Analysis of Land Disturbance and Pygmy Rabbit Occupancy Values Associated With Oil and Gas Extraction in Southwestern Wyoming, 2012
Germaine, S.S., Carter, S.K., Ignizio, D.A., and Freeman, A.T.
2017-06-07 Data Release
Patterns in Greater Sage-grouse population dynamics correspond with public grazing records at broad scales
Monroe, A. P., C. L. Aldridge, T. J. Assal, K. E. Veblen, D. A. Pyke, and M. L. Casazza.
2017 Journal Article
Relationships between gas field development and the presence and abundance of pygmy rabbits in southwestern Wyoming
Germaine, S. S., S. K. Carter, D. A. Ignizio, and A. T. Freeman.
2017 Journal Article
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cornman Robert 970-226-9380 rcornman@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cravens Amanda 970-226-9244 aecravens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Dawson Scott 970-226-9185 dawsons@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Eberhardt Frank Megan 970-226-9403 eberhardt-frankm@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Ekernas Lars 970-226-9236 lekernas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Huber Christopher 970-226-9219 chuber@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Juszak Jacob 970-226-9248 jjuszak@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Kraus Johanna 970-226-9436 jkraus@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
McGimpsey Susanna 970-226-9357 smcgimpsey@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Administrative Services
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oh Kevin 970-226-9119 koh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Ouren Douglas 970-226-9476 ourend@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roberts James 970-226-9362 jroberts@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schoenecker Kathryn 970-226-9329 schoeneckerk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Schweizer Haylee 970-226-9160 schweizerh@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stottlemyer J. Volunteer Ecosystem Dynamics
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Waltermire Robert 970-226-9344 waltermireb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Zeigenfuss Linda 509-427-9521 linda_zeigenfuss@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics