Wisconsin

Recent News

June 1, 2012

White-Nose Syndrome Symposium 2012

The 2012 White-nose Syndrome (WNS) Symposium, being held 4-7 June 2012 in Madison, WI, aims to advance research and management of this devastating disease in bats through communication, facilitated discussion, and collaboration. FORT scientists Paul Cryan and Laura Ellison will be participating in the symposium.

October 26, 2011

New Study Establishes Fungus as Cause of Deadly Bat Disease

Since 2006, white-nose syndrome (WNS) has caused catastrophic declines among several species of hibernating bats in eastern North America. Although colonization of skin by the fungus Geomyces destructans is consistently associated with characteristic lesions in the wings of affected bats, the causative role of G. destructans in WNS has not been scientifically validated until now. A new study published Oct.

August 26, 2009

FORT Scientist Recognized for Contributions to Wildlife

USGS scientist Erin Muths is one of the "Grow Dozen," 12 University of Wisconsin alumni featured for making a difference in wildlife biology in Grow, Wisconsin's Magazine for the Life Sciences. Dr. Muths investigates the ecology and population dynamics of endangered amphibians in the Rocky Mountains, including the role of disease. Grow is produced by the University of Wisconsin-Madison's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Bathythermograph Data, Lake Michigan, 1954
Patterson, E.L., Dabrowski, S.A., Bell, T.M., Nelson, S.R., Everette, A.L., Faundeen, J.L.
2017-04-17 Data Release
First estimates of the probability of survival in a small-bodied, high-elevation frog (Boreal Chorus Frog, Pseudacris maculata), or how historical data can be useful
Muths, E.L., R.D. Scherer, S.M. Amburgey, T. Matthews, A.W. Spencer, and P.S. Corn
2016 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Citizen science contributes to our knowledge of invasive plant species distributions
Crall, Alycia W.; Jarnevich, Catherine S.; Young, Nicholas E.; Panke, Brendon; Renz, Mark; Stohlgren, Thomas
2015 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis