Washington

Recent News

February 5, 2015
A male Sage-grouse displaying his feathers. Photo by Doug Ouren, USGS.

New Publication on the Conservation Buffer Distance Estimates for Greater Sage-Grouse

This recent publication is a compilation and summary of published scientific studies that evaluate the influence of anthropogenic (human) activities and infrastructure on Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) populations. The report provides a convenient reference for land managers and others working to develop biologically relevant and socioeconomically practical buffer distances around sage-grouse habitats.

June 10, 2014
Skagit River, Washington

FORT's Travis Schmidt to talk at Aquatic Toxicology Symposium

Travis Schmidt will be attending the Third Aquatic Toxicology Symposium in Fort Worden, Washington June 10-14, 2014. The goal of the meeting is to have an open-minded exchange of ideas and approaches to solving scientific problems and how these solutions can best be implemented in environmental assessments and regulation. It is an invitation only meeting sponsored by the major mineral commodity associations (ICA,IZA,NiPERA, MWH, and Rio Tinto).

May 23, 2013

New Energy Citation Database Released

The Western Energy Citation Clearinghouse (WECC v.1) has just been released as part of a suite of data and information management tools developed and managed by the Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative (WLCI) and the USGS Fort Collins Science Center. As energy development of all types continues to grow in the Rocky Mountain Region of the western United States, Federal resource managers increasingly need to balance energy demands with their effects on natural and human landscapes.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
The differing biogeochemical and microbial signatures of glaciers and rock glaciers
Fegel T.S., J.S. Baron, A.G. Fountain, G.F. Johnson, E.K. Hall
2016 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Distribution of invasive and native riparian woody plants across the western USA in relation to climate, river flow, floodplain geometry and patterns of introduction
McShane, R.R., D.A. Auerbach, J.M. Friedman, G.T. Auble, P.B. Shafroth, M.F. Merigliano, M.L. Scott and N.L. Poff
2015 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Baron Jill 970-491-1968 jill_baron@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science