Utah

Recent News

October 27, 2015
Small patch of forest, Little Mountain, WY

Mapping Forest Functional Type in a Forest-shrubland Ecotone

Mapping the extent of forest cover at the shrubland ecotone is a challenge because regional land cover data often lack the spatial resolution needed to adequately characterize the extent and juxtaposition of this highly dissected forest. In the southern portion of the Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative (WLCI), this transition zone provides important habitat for many species, yet detailed information is not available.

May 23, 2013

New Energy Citation Database Released

The Western Energy Citation Clearinghouse (WECC v.1) has just been released as part of a suite of data and information management tools developed and managed by the Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative (WLCI) and the USGS Fort Collins Science Center. As energy development of all types continues to grow in the Rocky Mountain Region of the western United States, Federal resource managers increasingly need to balance energy demands with their effects on natural and human landscapes.

August 8, 2012

Predicting the Future: Where Fools Rush In

The book Rocky Mountain Futures: An Ecological Perspective (2002, Island Press; edited by USGS scientist Jill Baron) addressed cumulative ecological effects of human activity in the Rocky Mountains. Contributors described how mountain ecosystems have changed from past human use and projected how ecosystems might look in the future, given then-current drivers and trends.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Community for Data Integration 2016 Annual Report
Langseth, M.L., Hsu, Leslie, Amberg, Jon, Bliss, Norman, Bock, A.R., Bolus, R.T., Bristol, R.S., Chase, K.J., Crimmins, T.M., Earle, P.S., Erickson, Richard, Everette, A.L., Falgout, Jeff, Faundeen, J.L., Fienen, Michael, Griffin, Rusty, Guy, M.R., Henry, K.D., Hoebelheinrich, N.J., Hunt, Randall, Hutchison, V.B., Ignizio, D.A., Infante, D.M., Jarnevich, Catherine, Jones, J.M., Kern, Tim, Leibowitz, Scott, Lightsom, F.L., Marsh, R.L., McCalla, S.G., McNiff, Marcia, Morisette, J.T., Nelson, J.C., Norkin, Tamar, Preston, T.M., Rosemartin, Alyssa, Sando, Roy, Sherba, J.T., Signell, R.P., Sleeter, B.M., Sundquist, E.T., Talbert, C.B., Viger, R.J., Weltzin, J.F., Waltman, Sharon, Weber, Marc, Wieferich, D.J., Williams, Brad, Windham-Myers, Lisamarie
2017 Open-file Report
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Contrasting evolutionary histories of MHC class I and class II loci in grouse—Effects of selection and gene conversion
Minias, P., Z.W. Bateson, L.A. Whittingham, J.A. Johnson, S.J. Oyler-McCance, and P.O. Dunn
2016 Journal Article
Estimating the economic impacts of ecosystem restoration—Methods and case studies
Cullinane Thomas, Catherine, Christopher Huber, Kristin Skrabis and Joshua Sidon
2016 Open-file Report

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cravens Amanda 970-226-9244 aecravens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Dawson Scott 970-226-9185 dawsons@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Huber Christopher 970-226-9219 chuber@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Juszak Jacob 970-226-9248 jjuszak@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roberts James 970-226-9362 jroberts@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Schweizer Haylee 970-226-9160 schweizerh@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science