Tennessee

Recent News

June 1, 2012

White-Nose Syndrome Symposium 2012

The 2012 White-nose Syndrome (WNS) Symposium, being held 4-7 June 2012 in Madison, WI, aims to advance research and management of this devastating disease in bats through communication, facilitated discussion, and collaboration. FORT scientists Paul Cryan and Laura Ellison will be participating in the symposium.

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

January 13, 2009

FORT Bat Expert to Present Research at International Symposium

USGS scientist and bat expert Paul Cryan will present an invited plenary talk on bats and wind energy at the 1st International Symposium on Bat Migration in Berlin, Germany, 16-18 January. Wind turbines are causing unprecedented mortality in migratory bats and Dr. Cryan is involved with the investigation to find out why.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Larger trees suffer most during drought in forests worldwide
Bennett, A.C., N.G. McDowell, C.D. Allen, and K.J. Anderson-Teixeira
2015 Journal Article
Ecology of white-nose syndrome
Cryan, P.M.
2014 Abstract
Watching the dark: new surveillance cameras are changing bat research
Cryan, P.M. and M. Gorresen
2014 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis