Oregon

Recent News

April 22, 2016
Oregon Zoo Polar Bear. Photo by Michael Durham, courtesy of the Oregon Zoo.

How Climate Change Might Affect Polar Bear Diets

The U.S. Geological Survey issued a joint press release with the Oregon Zoo on April 20, 2016 featuring results of a new study using zoo polar bears to help scientists better understand the effects of the polar bear's changing diet in remote Arctic regions.

February 5, 2015
A male Sage-grouse displaying his feathers. Photo by Doug Ouren, USGS.

New Publication on the Conservation Buffer Distance Estimates for Greater Sage-Grouse

This recent publication is a compilation and summary of published scientific studies that evaluate the influence of anthropogenic (human) activities and infrastructure on Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) populations. The report provides a convenient reference for land managers and others working to develop biologically relevant and socioeconomically practical buffer distances around sage-grouse habitats.

March 14, 2014
A picture of elk in the Lewis and Clark national Historical Park in Oregon

Elk Monitoring in Oregon

Friday, March 14, 2014 Paul Griffin joined a conference call with coauthor Kurt Jenkins, about elk monitoring work that he designed at Lewis and Clark National Historical Park in Oregon. He previously did work for the USGS Forest and Rangeland Ecosystem Science Center (FRESC) there.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Estimating the economic impacts of ecosystem restoration—Methods and case studies
Cullinane Thomas, Catherine, Christopher Huber, Kristin Skrabis and Joshua Sidon
2016 Open-file Report
Pruning high-value Douglas-fir can reduce dwarf mistletoe severity and increase longevity in central Oregon
Maffei, H.M., G.M. Filip, N.E. Grulke, B.W. Oblinger, E.Q. Margolis, and K.L. Chadwick
2016 Journal Article
The differing biogeochemical and microbial signatures of glaciers and rock glaciers
Fegel T.S., J.S. Baron, A.G. Fountain, G.F. Johnson, E.K. Hall
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Baron Jill 970-491-1968 jill_baron@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Dong Quan 970-226-9175 qdong@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Waltermire Robert 970-226-9344 waltermireb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science