Oklahoma

Recent News

April 26, 2011

New Contraceptive Could Help Control Herd Size in Wild Horses

Because of protection afforded by the Wild Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act of 1971 and a lack of natural predators, wild horse populations increase at an average rate of 20 percent per year. At this rate, a given population can rapidly grow beyond the carrying capacity of its range. In a new 5-year study, USGS-FORT scientists and the U.S.

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

July 16, 2010

Meeting to Focus on Conservation Challenges of Southwestern Herps

Southwest Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (SWPARC) is a working group organized for the purpose of implementing the PARC mission within the southwestern U.S., including Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Oklahoma, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Efficacy of SpayVac® as a contraceptive in feral horses
Roelle, J. E., Germaine, S. S., Kane, A. J. and Cade, B. S.
2017 Journal Article
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Assessing range-wide habitat suitability for the Lesser Prairie-Chicken
Jarnevich, C. S., T. R. Holcombe, B. A. Grisham, J. Timmer, C. W. Boal, M. Butler, J. Pitman, S. Kyle, D. Klute, G. Beauprez, A. Janus, and B. Van Pelt.
2016 Journal Article
Rangewide genetic analysis of Lesser Prairie-Chicken reveals population structure, range expansion, and possible introgression
Oyler-McCance, S. J., R. A. De Young, J. A. Fike, C. A. Hagen, J. A. Johnson, L. C. Larsson, and M. A. Patton.
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Ruth Janet 505-277-0180 janet_ruth@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science