Ohio

Recent News

June 1, 2012

White-Nose Syndrome Symposium 2012

The 2012 White-nose Syndrome (WNS) Symposium, being held 4-7 June 2012 in Madison, WI, aims to advance research and management of this devastating disease in bats through communication, facilitated discussion, and collaboration. FORT scientists Paul Cryan and Laura Ellison will be participating in the symposium.

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

August 9, 2004

New Report on Monitoring Trends in U.S. Bat Populations

The cryptic and nocturnal habits of bats render it difficult to assess trends in the status of their populations. To meet this challenge, USGS biologists Mike Bogan and Tom O'Shea hosted an expert workshop to examine the topic of monitoring the status of bat populations. The proceedings are contained in a newly released report, “Monitoring Trends in Bat Populations of the United States and Territories: Problems and Prospects,” Information and Technology Report USGS/BRD/ITR—2003-003.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Methylmercury bioaccumulation in stream food webs declines with increasing primary production
Walters, David, D.F. Raikow, C.R. Hammerschmidt, M.G. Mehling, A. Kovach, and J.T. Oris
2015 Journal Article
Genetic diversity and species diversity of stream fishes covary across a land-use gradient
Blum, M.J., M.J. Bagley, D.M. Walters, S.A. Jackson, F.B. Daniel, D.J. Chaloud, and B.S. Cade
2012 Journal Article
Lights, camera, action: behaviors of hibernating bats before and after WNS revealed by surveillance video
Cryan, P., J. Boyles, G. McCracken, K. Castle, D. Dalton, J. Yanez, J. Beeler, A. Wilson, A. Hicks, C. Herzog, R. vonLinden, S. Johnson, C. Hudson, T. Shier, and J. Coleman
2012 Abstract

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Kraus Johanna 970-226-9436 jkraus@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Roberts James 970-226-9362 jroberts@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems