North Dakota

Recent News

January 7, 2016
Pollen - Photo Credit Clint Otto of NPWRC

Using genetics to identify the plants honey bees visit to collect pollen

Plant pollen is the main source of protein in the honey bee diet. Identifying the plants honey bees visit has been laborious and difficult to implement at a landscape level to guide conservation practices. Recently developed genetic techniques offer a promising option. A USGS study recently published in PLoS One describes a new genetic approach to cataloging pollen sources and its application in an important apicultural region.

October 3, 2014
Cottonwoods along the Little Missouri River

Dendroclimatic potential of Plains Cottonwood (Populus deltoides subsp. monilifera) from the Northern Great Plains, USA

There is a new publication available from FORT about a new 368-year tree-ring chronology (A.D. 1643–2010) that has been developed in western North Dakota using plains cottonwood (Populus deltoids subsp. monilifera) growing on the relatively undisturbed floodplain of the Little Missouri River in the North Unit of Theodore Roosevelt National Park.

April 6, 2012
Prairie Potholes

FORT Supplies Economic Analyses Related to Conservation Benefits

The Plains and Prairie Pothole Landscape Conservation Cooperative hosted a "Connections" workshop 4-5 April 2012 in Bismarck, ND, with the PPP-LLC technical team members and affiliated principal investigators. The Connections group examined the investigators' research against the list of decisions and objectives the PPPLLC technical team identified previously during a science needs workshop.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Dong Quan 970-226-9175 qdong@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Orth Patti 970-226-9110 porth@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Vandever Mark 970-226-9264 vandeverm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science