New Mexico

Recent News

May 18, 2017

FORT Ecologists Featured in Santa Fe Reporter Cover Story

FORT Ecologist Collin Haffey and Research Ecologist Ellis Margolis were featured in this week's cover story for the Santa Fe Reporter.

September 15, 2016
Prairie dog and habitat

Droughts Might Increase the Susceptibility of Prairie Dogs to Fleas and Plague

Colorado State University cooperator, Dr. David Eads, and FORT Research Wildlife Biologist, Dr. Dean Biggins, and colleagues, published a manuscript on the potential importance of droughts in the ecology of plague (Yersinia pestis), an introduced, zoonotic disease that can devastate populations of prairie dogs (Cynomys)and endangered Black-footed Ferrets (Mustela nigripes).

August 31, 2016
Tree rings collage. Photo credit to Collin Haffey, USGS.

Albuquerque Journal Highlights Collaborative Fire History Project

FORT ecologist, Ellis Margolis, spoke with a reporter from the Albuquerque Journal on August 19, 2016 about a new fire history project in the Taos Valley Watersheds, New Mexico. Margolis, Craig Allen, and Collin Haffey from the USGS New Mexico Landscapes Field Station, along with the University of Arizona, are working with the U.S.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Drought, multi-seasonal climate, and wildfire in northern New Mexico
Margolis, E.Q., Woodhouse, C.A. and Swetnam, T.W.
2017 Journal Article
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Assessing range-wide habitat suitability for the Lesser Prairie-Chicken
Jarnevich, C. S., T. R. Holcombe, B. A. Grisham, J. Timmer, C. W. Boal, M. Butler, J. Pitman, S. Kyle, D. Klute, G. Beauprez, A. Janus, and B. Van Pelt.
2016 Journal Article
Droughts may increase susceptibility of prairie dogs to fleas: Incongruity with hypothesized mechanisms of plague cycles in rodents
Eads, D.A., D.E. Biggins, D.H. Long, K.L. Gage, and M.F. Antolin
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Baron Jill 970-491-1968 jill_baron@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Eberhardt Frank Megan 970-226-9403 eberhardt-frankm@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Haffey Collin 505-954-2252 chaffey@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Huber Christopher 970-226-9219 chuber@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Kraus Johanna 970-226-9436 jkraus@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Margolis Ellis 505-954-2251 emargolis@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Perry Laura 970-226-9196 perryl@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Aquatic Systems
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roberts James 970-226-9362 jroberts@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Ruth Janet 505-277-0180 janet_ruth@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Schweizer Haylee 970-226-9160 schweizerh@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science