New Jersey

Recent News

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

March 26, 2009

New Web Site on White-Nose Syndrome in Bats

White-Nose Syndrome (WNS), an infectious disease that depletes hibernating bats of vital energy reserves, has spread across 9 northeastern states in 2 years and has killed hundreds of thousands of cave bats. In response to growing demand for publicly available information on WNS, the USGS Fort Collins Science Center recently developed and launched a Web site entitled, White-Nose Syndrome Threatens the Survival of Hibernating Bats in North America.

May 4, 2006

“HIP” New Software for Managing Stream Flow, Establishing Flow Standards, and Determining Hydrologic Alteration

USGS scientists have developed the Hydroecological Integrity Assessment Process (HIP) and a suite of software tools for conducting a hydroecological classification of streams, addressing instream flow needs, and assessing past and proposed hydrologic alterations on stream flow/ecosystem components. HIP is intended for use by any federal or state agency or nongovernmental entity responsible for or interested in managing streams to restore or maintain ecological integrity.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
An integrated Riverine Environmental Flow Decision Support System (REFDSS) to evaluate the ecological effects of alternative flow scenarios on river ecosystems
Maloney, Kelly O., Talbert, Colin B., Cole, Jeffrey C., Galbraith, Heather S., Blakeslee, Carrie J., Hanson, Leanne, and Holmquist-Johnson, Christopher L.
2015 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome threatens the survival of hibernating bats in North America
Cryan, P.M
2009 Science Feature

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis