New Hampshire

Recent News

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

March 26, 2009

New Web Site on White-Nose Syndrome in Bats

White-Nose Syndrome (WNS), an infectious disease that depletes hibernating bats of vital energy reserves, has spread across 9 northeastern states in 2 years and has killed hundreds of thousands of cave bats. In response to growing demand for publicly available information on WNS, the USGS Fort Collins Science Center recently developed and launched a Web site entitled, White-Nose Syndrome Threatens the Survival of Hibernating Bats in North America.

January 13, 2009

FORT Bat Expert to Present Research at International Symposium

USGS scientist and bat expert Paul Cryan will present an invited plenary talk on bats and wind energy at the 1st International Symposium on Bat Migration in Berlin, Germany, 16-18 January. Wind turbines are causing unprecedented mortality in migratory bats and Dr. Cryan is involved with the investigation to find out why.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome threatens the survival of hibernating bats in North America
Cryan, P.M
2009 Science Feature
Summary and analysis of the U.S. government Bat Banding Program
Ellison, L.E
2008 Open-file Report

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Orth Patti 970-226-9110 porth@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis