Nebraska

Recent News

February 18, 2016
Platte River near Kearney, NE, downstream view from USGS gauging station. Photo by waterdata.usgs.gov.

Filming for Documentary “Platte River Time Lapse” Takes Place in FORT Lab

On February 18, 2016, Dr. David Merritt, a riparian ecologist with the U.S. Forest Service, met with Dr. Gregor Auble of FORT to film in the dendrochronology lab. Dr. Merritt is collaborating with the University of Nebraska to produce the documentary “Platte River Time Lapse”. The film crew documented the processing of samples within the lab environment as well as producing several high-resolution images of tree cores. The film is set for release sometime in the next year. 

April 24, 2012

USGS Invited to Participate in New Rural Initiative

USGS social scientist Jessica Montag has been invited by University of Nebraska President J.B. Milliken and Vice President for Agriculture Ronnie Green to participate in a rural development conference 8-10 May 2012 in Lincoln, Nebraska. The purpose of the conference is to explore the creation of a major new initiative, the Rural Futures Institute (RFI), to enable rural residents to create desired futures. Dr.

April 28, 2010

Saltcedar and Russian Olive Report to Congress Now Available

In a new report, http://www.fort.usgs.gov/Products/Publications/pub_abstract.asp?PubID=22895. Saltcedar and Russian Olive Control and Demonstration Act Science Assessment, requested by Congress and released today, scientists provide a review of the scientific literature that evaluates and summarizes the existing "state of the science" on saltcedar (also called tamarisk) and Russian olive.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
First estimates of the probability of survival in a small-bodied, high-elevation frog (Boreal Chorus Frog, Pseudacris maculata), or how historical data can be useful
Muths, E.L., R.D. Scherer, S.M. Amburgey, T. Matthews, A.W. Spencer, and P.S. Corn
2016 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Distribution of invasive and native riparian woody plants across the western USA in relation to climate, river flow, floodplain geometry and patterns of introduction
McShane, R.R., D.A. Auerbach, J.M. Friedman, G.T. Auble, P.B. Shafroth, M.F. Merigliano, M.L. Scott and N.L. Poff
2015 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science