Montana

Recent News

February 5, 2015
A male Sage-grouse displaying his feathers. Photo by Doug Ouren, USGS.

New Publication on the Conservation Buffer Distance Estimates for Greater Sage-Grouse

This recent publication is a compilation and summary of published scientific studies that evaluate the influence of anthropogenic (human) activities and infrastructure on Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) populations. The report provides a convenient reference for land managers and others working to develop biologically relevant and socioeconomically practical buffer distances around sage-grouse habitats.

February 2, 2015
Upper Waterton Lake, looking north into Canada, Glacier National Park.  Photo by R.H. Hendrickson, 1980.

New Paper Offers Retrospective View of the 1970s Mountain Pine Beetle Outbreak in Glacier National Park

In a recent publication, USGS scientist Tim Assal and others, developed a new method to reconstruct past (1970s) bark beetle outbreaks using a novel combination of aerial photography and Landsat imagery. The lack of spatially explicit data on this disturbance represented both a major data gap and a critical research challenge in that wildfires have removed some of the evidence from the landscape.

May 6, 2014

Cottonwood trees have tough time taking root in Missouri River Breaks

"Only about one in a million cottonwood seedlings will survive their first year to grow to maturity along the Missouri River in the badlands of the Upper Missouri River Breaks National Monument," said USGS's Greg Auble in a recent article in the Billings Gazette newspaper.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Annual report for 2012 wild horse research and field activities
Schoenecker, K.A., J.E. Roelle, T.A. Mask, and S.S. Germaine
2014 Administrative Report
Black-footed ferret conservation: a mix of scientific investigation and operational tasks
Biggins, D.E
2013 Abstract
Contraception can lead to trophic asynchrony between birth pulse and resources
Ransom, J.I., N.T. Hobbs, and J. Bruemmer
2013 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Baron Jill 970-491-1968 jill_baron@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Dong Quan 970-226-9175 qdong@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Ekernas Lars 970-226-9236 lekernas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Ouren Douglas 970-226-9476 ourend@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schoenecker Kathryn 970-226-9329 schoeneckerk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Zeigenfuss Linda 509-427-9521 linda_zeigenfuss@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics