Massachusetts

Recent News

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

March 26, 2009

New Web Site on White-Nose Syndrome in Bats

White-Nose Syndrome (WNS), an infectious disease that depletes hibernating bats of vital energy reserves, has spread across 9 northeastern states in 2 years and has killed hundreds of thousands of cave bats. In response to growing demand for publicly available information on WNS, the USGS Fort Collins Science Center recently developed and launched a Web site entitled, White-Nose Syndrome Threatens the Survival of Hibernating Bats in North America.

January 13, 2009

FORT Bat Expert to Present Research at International Symposium

USGS scientist and bat expert Paul Cryan will present an invited plenary talk on bats and wind energy at the 1st International Symposium on Bat Migration in Berlin, Germany, 16-18 January. Wind turbines are causing unprecedented mortality in migratory bats and Dr. Cryan is involved with the investigation to find out why.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Amphibian conservation: clarifications to comments from Andreone
Erin L. Muths, and Robert N. Fisher
2017 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
A multi-metric assessment of environmental contaminant exposure and effects in an urbanized reach of the Charles River near Watertown, Massachusetts
Smith, S.B., P.J. Anderson, P.C. Baumann, L.R. Deweese, S.L. Goodbred, D.S. Smith, and J.J. Coyle
2012 Open-file Report
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis