Maryland

Recent News

March 2, 2016
This is a picture of a Fluvial Systems class held outdoors.

Fluvial Systems Training Coming Up

FORT’s Jonathan Friedman will be teaching the USGS-NTC Training Class, “Geomorphic Analysis of Fluvial Systems” in Baltimore, Maryland, May 9-13, 2016. This 5-day class, targeted to USGS Science Center personnel and cooperators, covers channel form, processes of channel change, flow hydraulics, sediment transport, flood disturbance, effects of vegetation, and river restoration. The instructors will be USGS research scientists Faith Fitzpatrick, Jonathan Friedman, Allen Gellis, and Jim O’Conno

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

May 22, 2009

USGS Scientist Receives Citation for Meritorious Service

The U.S. Department of the Interior recently recognized FORT Research Zoologist Thomas J. O’Shea with the Meritorious Service Award for his outstanding scientific contributions to the USGS in mammalian wildlife ecology and conservation. This award recognizes DOI employees who have demonstrated longstanding excellence in serving Interior’s mission. Throughout his 30-year career, Dr.

Products by Fiscal Year

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis