Kansas

Recent News

April 28, 2010

Saltcedar and Russian Olive Report to Congress Now Available

In a new report, http://www.fort.usgs.gov/Products/Publications/pub_abstract.asp?PubID=22895. Saltcedar and Russian Olive Control and Demonstration Act Science Assessment, requested by Congress and released today, scientists provide a review of the scientific literature that evaluates and summarizes the existing "state of the science" on saltcedar (also called tamarisk) and Russian olive.

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

August 9, 2004

New Report on Monitoring Trends in U.S. Bat Populations

The cryptic and nocturnal habits of bats render it difficult to assess trends in the status of their populations. To meet this challenge, USGS biologists Mike Bogan and Tom O'Shea hosted an expert workshop to examine the topic of monitoring the status of bat populations. The proceedings are contained in a newly released report, “Monitoring Trends in Bat Populations of the United States and Territories: Problems and Prospects,” Information and Technology Report USGS/BRD/ITR—2003-003.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Assessing range-wide habitat suitability for the Lesser Prairie-Chicken
Jarnevich, C. S., T. R. Holcombe, B. A. Grisham, J. Timmer, C. W. Boal, M. Butler, J. Pitman, S. Kyle, D. Klute, G. Beauprez, A. Janus, and B. Van Pelt.
2016 Journal Article
First estimates of the probability of survival in a small-bodied, high-elevation frog (Boreal Chorus Frog, Pseudacris maculata), or how historical data can be useful
Muths, E.L., R.D. Scherer, S.M. Amburgey, T. Matthews, A.W. Spencer, and P.S. Corn
2016 Journal Article
Rangewide genetic analysis of Lesser Prairie-Chicken reveals population structure, range expansion, and possible introgression
Oyler-McCance, S. J., R. A. De Young, J. A. Fike, C. A. Hagen, J. A. Johnson, L. C. Larsson, and M. A. Patton.
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Vandever Mark 970-226-9264 vandeverm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science