Iowa

Recent News

November 4, 2014
A picture of a frog

Amphibian Research & Monitoring Initiative Receives Special Achievement Award

On October 27, 2014 at a Wildlife Society conference in Pittsburgh, PA, the Amphibian Research and Monitoring Initiative (ARMI) collectively received the Special Achievement Award from the Biometrics Working Group. ARMI was recognized for their dedication and unique contribution to advancing quantitative methods in wildlife investigations.

September 25, 2014

Assessing the Value of Conservation Practices in Agricultural Landscapes

The significance placed on environmentally responsible land management is based in part on public recognition that social, aesthetic, and recreational values enhance the traditional uses of agricultural land.

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
First estimates of the probability of survival in a small-bodied, high-elevation frog (Boreal Chorus Frog, Pseudacris maculata), or how historical data can be useful
Muths, E.L., R.D. Scherer, S.M. Amburgey, T. Matthews, A.W. Spencer, and P.S. Corn
2016 Journal Article
Projected wetland densities under climate change: Habitat loss but little geographic shift in conservation strategy
Sofaer, H. R., Skagen, S. K., Barsugli, J. J., Rashford, B. S., Reese, G. C., Hoeting, J. A., Wood, A. W. and Noon, B. R.
2016 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Restored agricultural wetlands in Central Iowa: habitat quality and amphibian response
Reeves, R. A., C. L. Pierce, E. Muths., K. L. Smalling, R. W. Klaver, M. W. Vandever and W. A. Battaglin
2015 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Vandever Mark 970-226-9264 vandeverm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis