Idaho

Recent News

February 5, 2015
A male Sage-grouse displaying his feathers. Photo by Doug Ouren, USGS.

New Publication on the Conservation Buffer Distance Estimates for Greater Sage-Grouse

This recent publication is a compilation and summary of published scientific studies that evaluate the influence of anthropogenic (human) activities and infrastructure on Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) populations. The report provides a convenient reference for land managers and others working to develop biologically relevant and socioeconomically practical buffer distances around sage-grouse habitats.

April 3, 2014
this is a picture of the Smiths Fork River in western Wyoming with the lattice network of diverting water

James Roberts' Work Featured in Blog

The work of FORT scientist James Roberts was recently featured in an extremely popular Climate and Aquatics blog. The blog titled "Streams in Channels & Fish in Streams" talks about how in the United States alone, we withdraw or divert 400 billion gallons of freshwater per day for various municipal, industrial, and agricultural purposes.

May 23, 2013

New Energy Citation Database Released

The Western Energy Citation Clearinghouse (WECC v.1) has just been released as part of a suite of data and information management tools developed and managed by the Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative (WLCI) and the USGS Fort Collins Science Center. As energy development of all types continues to grow in the Rocky Mountain Region of the western United States, Federal resource managers increasingly need to balance energy demands with their effects on natural and human landscapes.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Estimating the economic impacts of ecosystem restoration—Methods and case studies
Cullinane Thomas, Catherine, Christopher Huber, Kristin Skrabis and Joshua Sidon
2016 Open-file Report
First estimates of the probability of survival in a small-bodied, high-elevation frog (Boreal Chorus Frog, Pseudacris maculata), or how historical data can be useful
Muths, E.L., R.D. Scherer, S.M. Amburgey, T. Matthews, A.W. Spencer, and P.S. Corn
2016 Journal Article
Why You Can’t Ignore Disease When You Reintroduce Animals
Muths, E.L. and H. McCallum
2016 Book, Pages in

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis