Hawaii

Recent News

May 13, 2016
A brown treesnake crawls down a limb. USGS photo.

USGS Rapid Response Team Keeps Snake Responders on Their Toes

Adam Knox, the Guam-based Coordinator of the USGS Brown Treesnake Rapid Response Team, was contacted by Maui News, a local news outlet in Hawaii. The reporter was covering a recent Brown Treesnake Rapid Response Team training course held on Guam that was attended by three members of the Maui Invasive Species Committee.

November 18, 2011

Seeing in the Dark: Imaging Bats at Wind Turbines

Expansion of wind energy production nationwide, for all its benefits, brings an unwanted side effect: increased bat and bird mortality at wind turbines. Assessing the risk industrial wind turbines pose to migratory bats is hindered by low-light conditions and the challenges of monitoring night-flying animals characterized by small size, rapid and non-linear flight, and irregular occurrence.

July 16, 2010

Meeting to Focus on Conservation Challenges of Southwestern Herps

Southwest Partners in Amphibian and Reptile Conservation (SWPARC) is a working group organized for the purpose of implementing the PARC mission within the southwestern U.S., including Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Oklahoma, Nevada, New Mexico, Texas, and Utah.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Orth Patti 970-226-9110 porth@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science