Georgia

Recent News

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

August 9, 2004

New Report on Monitoring Trends in U.S. Bat Populations

The cryptic and nocturnal habits of bats render it difficult to assess trends in the status of their populations. To meet this challenge, USGS biologists Mike Bogan and Tom O'Shea hosted an expert workshop to examine the topic of monitoring the status of bat populations. The proceedings are contained in a newly released report, “Monitoring Trends in Bat Populations of the United States and Territories: Problems and Prospects,” Information and Technology Report USGS/BRD/ITR—2003-003.

June 24, 2004

FORT-FSA Conference Addresses Future Science Needs of Conservation Reserve Program

Over 22 million of the current 34 million acres of the USDA’s Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) contracts will expire in 2007 and 2008. With that rapidly approaching reality in mind, the USDA Farm Service Agency and the U.S. Geological Survey's Fort Collins Science Center sponsored a national conference June 6-8 in Fort Collins, Colorado, on the future of the Conservation Reserve Program.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Modeling suitable habitat of invasive red lionfish Pterois volitans (Linnaeus, 1758) in North and South America’s coastal waters
Evangelista P.H., N.E. Young, P.J. Schofield, C.S. Jarnevich
2016 Journal Article
Rapid movement and instability of an invasive hybrid swarm
Glotzbecker, D.M. Walters, and M. J. Blum
2016 Journal Article
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science