Florida

Recent News

October 25, 2016
2016 EVER Shark Valley Race Against Invasives 5K

USGS Invasive Species Science Branch Team-up to Run 5K Race Against Invasives

Four Florida-based representatives from the Invasive Species Science Branch, including three youth interns, ran the Race Against Invasives 5K in Everglades National Park on October 22, 2016. Racers ran alongside interagency colleagues from the National Park Service, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, Florida State University, and Florida International University.

March 2, 2016
A tegu lizard caught in a USGS trap. Photo Michelle McEachern, USGS.

Assistant Secretary of the Army to Visit South Florida Natural Resources Center

During a visit to Everglades National Park (ENP) on March 9, 2016, Assistant Secretary of the Army for Civil Works, Jo-Ellen Darcy, will tour the South Florida Natural Resources Center's Daniel Beard Research Center. Michelle Collier and Emma Hanslowe, along with NPS staff, will give a presentation on invasive plants and animals, including the work that USGS staff undertakes on invasive reptiles in ENP.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Agkistrodon piscivorus conanti (Florida cottonmouth) Diet
Grajal-Puche, A., J. Josimovich, B. Falk, and R.N. Reed
2016 Journal Article
First record of invasive Burmese Python oviposition and brooding inside an anthropogenic structure
Emma Hanslowe, Bryan Falk, Michelle A. M. Collier, Jillian Josimovich, Thomas Rahill, and Robert Reed
2016 Journal Article
Modeling suitable habitat of invasive red lionfish Pterois volitans (Linnaeus, 1758) in North and South America’s coastal waters
Evangelista P.H., N.E. Young, P.J. Schofield, C.S. Jarnevich
2016 Journal Article
Supersize me: Remains of three white-tailed deer (<i>Odocoileus virginianus</i>) in an invasive Burmese python (<i>Python molurus bivittatus</i>) in Florida
Scott M. Boback, Ray W. Snow, Teresa Hsu, Suzanne C. Peurach, Carla J. Dove, and Robert N. Reed
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Barnhart Patrick 671-355-4014 pbarnhart@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Bonewell Lea 970-226-9353 bonewelll@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Falk Bryan 305-242-7820 bfalk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Hinkle Thomas 671-355-4014 thomas_hinkle@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Huber Christopher 970-226-9219 chuber@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Iko William 970-226-9270 ikob@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Office of the Center Director
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reed Robert 970-226-9464 reedr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Rodda Gordon 970-226-9471 roddag@usgs.gov Volunteer Invasive Species Science
Savidge Julie jsavidge@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Invasive Species Science
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Viernes Marijoy 671-355-4014 mviernes@usgs.gov Contractor - Student Services Invasive Species Science
Yackel Adams Amy 970-226-9489 yackela@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science