Connecticut

Recent News

December 15, 2010

Bat Wings Get the Brunt of White-Nose Syndrome

White-nose syndrome, now thought to be caused by the recently discovered fungus Geomyces destructans, is causing unprecedented mortality in several species of cave-dwelling bats during winter hibernation.

March 26, 2009

New Web Site on White-Nose Syndrome in Bats

White-Nose Syndrome (WNS), an infectious disease that depletes hibernating bats of vital energy reserves, has spread across 9 northeastern states in 2 years and has killed hundreds of thousands of cave bats. In response to growing demand for publicly available information on WNS, the USGS Fort Collins Science Center recently developed and launched a Web site entitled, White-Nose Syndrome Threatens the Survival of Hibernating Bats in North America.

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Estimating the economic impacts of ecosystem restoration—Methods and case studies
Cullinane Thomas, Catherine, Christopher Huber, Kristin Skrabis and Joshua Sidon
2016 Open-file Report
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application
White-nose Syndrome threatens the survival of hibernating bats in North America
Cryan, P.M
2009 Science Feature

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis