Colorado

Recent News

May 18, 2017

USGS Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS) in Support of Science and Stewardship

On May 18, 2017, Dr. Chris Holmquist-Johnson presented “Using Small UAS for Science: Providing additional tools for wildlife detection, hydrologic mapping, and monitoring river processes and landscape change” at the the NPS Natural Sounds & Night Skies hosted “Training on the Use of Unmanned Aircraft Systems for Natural and Cultural Resource Science and Stewardship” (Fort Collins, CO May 18-19, 2017).

May 18, 2017

Students Learn About USGS Uses of Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS)

On May 16, 2017, Dr. Chris Holmquist-Johnson presented “Using Small Unmanned Aircraft Systems (sUAS) for Science” at Irish Elementary School in Fort Collins. The presentation was an overview of Fort Collins Science Center (FORT) projects that use sUAS and was designed to show young science students how sUAS are used for different scientific applications.

May 4, 2017

Preserving and Publishing USGS Legacy Data at Risk: Historical Bathythermograph Data

The USGS Fort Collins Science Center’s Data at Risk (DaR) project has publicly released “Bathythermograph Data, Lake Michigan, 1954" (https://doi.org/10.5066/F7DV1H4B), the second of five USGS legacy data products identified by the project as at risk of loss or damage in 2016.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Community for Data Integration 2016 Annual Report
Langseth, M.L., Hsu, Leslie, Amberg, Jon, Bliss, Norman, Bock, A.R., Bolus, R.T., Bristol, R.S., Chase, K.J., Crimmins, T.M., Earle, P.S., Erickson, Richard, Everette, A.L., Falgout, Jeff, Faundeen, J.L., Fienen, Michael, Griffin, Rusty, Guy, M.R., Henry, K.D., Hoebelheinrich, N.J., Hunt, Randall, Hutchison, V.B., Ignizio, D.A., Infante, D.M., Jarnevich, Catherine, Jones, J.M., Kern, Tim, Leibowitz, Scott, Lightsom, F.L., Marsh, R.L., McCalla, S.G., McNiff, Marcia, Morisette, J.T., Nelson, J.C., Norkin, Tamar, Preston, T.M., Rosemartin, Alyssa, Sando, Roy, Sherba, J.T., Signell, R.P., Sleeter, B.M., Sundquist, E.T., Talbert, C.B., Viger, R.J., Weltzin, J.F., Waltman, Sharon, Weber, Marc, Wieferich, D.J., Williams, Brad, Windham-Myers, Lisamarie
2017 Open-file Report
Weather radar data correlate to hail-induced mortality in grassland birds
Carver AR, Ross JD, Augustine DJ, Skagen SK, Dwyer AM, Tomback DF, Wunder MB.
2017 Journal Article
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Assessing range-wide habitat suitability for the Lesser Prairie-Chicken
Jarnevich, C. S., T. R. Holcombe, B. A. Grisham, J. Timmer, C. W. Boal, M. Butler, J. Pitman, S. Kyle, D. Klute, G. Beauprez, A. Janus, and B. Van Pelt.
2016 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Jeffrey 970-226-9158 allenj@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Baron Jill 970-491-1968 jill_baron@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Burris Lucy 970-226-9157 lburris@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Colasuonno Leah 970-226-9103 lcolasuonno@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Cornman Robert 970-226-9380 rcornman@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cravens Amanda 970-226-9244 aecravens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Dawson Scott 970-226-9185 dawsons@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Dong Quan 970-226-9175 qdong@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Eberhardt Frank Megan 970-226-9403 eberhardt-frankm@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Ekernas Lars 970-226-9236 lekernas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Heinrichs Julie 970-226-9149 jheinrichs@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Huber Christopher 970-226-9219 chuber@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Iko William 970-226-9270 ikob@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Office of the Center Director
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Juszak Jacob 970-226-9248 jjuszak@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Kraus Johanna 970-226-9436 jkraus@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Miller Janet 970-226-9249 janetmiller@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Miller Thomas 970-226-9186 twmiller@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
O'Shea Thomas 970-226-9397 osheat@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Oh Kevin 970-226-9119 koh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Ouren Douglas 970-226-9476 ourend@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Pedigo Sean 970-226-9148 pedigos@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roberts James 970-226-9362 jroberts@usgs.gov Federal - Other Aquatic Systems
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schell Spencer 970-226-9364 schells@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schoenecker Kathryn 970-226-9329 schoeneckerk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Schweizer Haylee 970-226-9160 schweizerh@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Vandever Mark 970-226-9264 vandeverm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Waltermire Robert 970-226-9344 waltermireb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Wild David 970-226-9136 dwild@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Zeigenfuss Linda 509-427-9521 linda_zeigenfuss@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Zimmerman Shawna 970-226-9153 szimmerman@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Zuellig Robert 970-226-9419 rzuellig@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary