Arkansas

Recent News

September 13, 2004

Spotlight on Invasives

Invasive species of plants, animals, diseases, and pathogens are estimated to cause more than $137 billion annually in damage to Americans in economic, ecological, and human health costs. Invasive species are best managed by preventing their establishment in the first place or by halting their spread to unaffected areas. But how? The USGS, NASA, and Colorado State University have teamed up to develop a tool to map invasive species and predict where they could be headed.

August 9, 2004

New Report on Monitoring Trends in U.S. Bat Populations

The cryptic and nocturnal habits of bats render it difficult to assess trends in the status of their populations. To meet this challenge, USGS biologists Mike Bogan and Tom O'Shea hosted an expert workshop to examine the topic of monitoring the status of bat populations. The proceedings are contained in a newly released report, “Monitoring Trends in Bat Populations of the United States and Territories: Problems and Prospects,” Information and Technology Report USGS/BRD/ITR—2003-003.

June 24, 2004

FORT-FSA Conference Addresses Future Science Needs of Conservation Reserve Program

Over 22 million of the current 34 million acres of the USDA’s Conservation Reserve Program (CRP) contracts will expire in 2007 and 2008. With that rapidly approaching reality in mind, the USDA Farm Service Agency and the U.S. Geological Survey's Fort Collins Science Center sponsored a national conference June 6-8 in Fort Collins, Colorado, on the future of the Conservation Reserve Program.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
ASPN – Assessing Socioeconomic Planning Needs (v.1)
Richardson, L., A.L. Everette, S. Dawson
2015 Web Application
Larger trees suffer most during drought in forests worldwide
Bennett, A.C., N.G. McDowell, C.D. Allen, and K.J. Anderson-Teixeira
2015 Journal Article
White-nose Syndrome Disease Tracking System (v.1)
Everette, A.L., P.M. Cryan, and K. Peterson
2012 Web Application
Summary and analysis of the U.S. government Bat Banding Program
Ellison, L.E
2008 Open-file Report

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Nease Patricia 970-226-9429 pnease@usgs.gov Volunteer Aquatic Systems
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis