Arizona

Recent News

September 3, 2015
National Geographic article screen capture

National Geographic Interviews FORT Ecologist Regarding Colorado River Contamination in the Grand Canyon

Dr. David Walters, Ecologist, was interviewed on August 24, 2015 by Osha Gray Davidson from National Geographic regarding his paper on mercury (Hg) and selenium (Se) accumulation in the Colorado River food web in the Grand Canyon published last week in Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry.

September 3, 2015
Thom Hartmann Interview

The Big Picture with Thom Hartmann: Interview

FORT Ecologist, Dr. David Walters, was interviewed by Thom Hartmann on Monday, August 31, 2015, for The Big Picture, a daily television show.

September 3, 2015
Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. (Photo courtesy of Grand Canyon National Park)

Ecologist Interviewed on the Implications of Water Contamination

Dr. David Walters, Ecologist, conducted a phone interview with Mark Brodie, a reporter from Tempe, Arizona NPR affiliate, KJZZ. Walters discussed levels of mercury (Hg) and selenium (Se) in the Colorado River in Grand Canyon, implications of their findings, and possible sources of the contaminants to the Colorado River food web, based on their recent study.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Community for Data Integration 2016 Annual Report
Langseth, M.L., Hsu, Leslie, Amberg, Jon, Bliss, Norman, Bock, A.R., Bolus, R.T., Bristol, R.S., Chase, K.J., Crimmins, T.M., Earle, P.S., Erickson, Richard, Everette, A.L., Falgout, Jeff, Faundeen, J.L., Fienen, Michael, Griffin, Rusty, Guy, M.R., Henry, K.D., Hoebelheinrich, N.J., Hunt, Randall, Hutchison, V.B., Ignizio, D.A., Infante, D.M., Jarnevich, Catherine, Jones, J.M., Kern, Tim, Leibowitz, Scott, Lightsom, F.L., Marsh, R.L., McCalla, S.G., McNiff, Marcia, Morisette, J.T., Nelson, J.C., Norkin, Tamar, Preston, T.M., Rosemartin, Alyssa, Sando, Roy, Sherba, J.T., Signell, R.P., Sleeter, B.M., Sundquist, E.T., Talbert, C.B., Viger, R.J., Weltzin, J.F., Waltman, Sharon, Weber, Marc, Wieferich, D.J., Williams, Brad, Windham-Myers, Lisamarie
2017 Open-file Report
A Multiscale Index of Landscape Intactness for the Western United States
Carr, N.B., I.I.F. Leinwand, and D.J.A. Wood
2016 Data Release
Development of a decision support tool for water and resource management using biotic, abiotic, and hydrological assessments of Topock Marsh, Arizona
Holmquist-Johnson, Chris, Leanne Hanson, Joan Daniels, Colin Talbert and Jeanette Haegele
2016 Open-file Report
Estimating the economic impacts of ecosystem restoration—Methods and case studies
Cullinane Thomas, Catherine, Christopher Huber, Kristin Skrabis and Joshua Sidon
2016 Open-file Report

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Auble Gregor 970-226-9448 aubleg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Burkardt Nina 970-226-9275 burkardtn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Dong Quan 970-226-9175 qdong@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Eberhardt Frank Megan 970-226-9403 eberhardt-frankm@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Emmerich Christopher 970-226-9141 emmerichc@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Friedman Jonathan 970-226-9318 friedmanj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Kern Tim 970-226-9366 kernt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Miller Holly 970-226-9133 millerh@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Montgomery Gail 970-226-9253 montgomeryg@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Orth Patti 970-226-9110 porth@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Ruth Janet 505-277-0180 janet_ruth@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Schmidt Travis 970-226-9470 tschmidt@usgs.gov USGS Aquatic Systems
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Schweizer Haylee 970-226-9160 schweizerh@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Walters David 970-226-9484 waltersd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Wilson Lei Ann 970-226-9179 wilsonl@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science