Alaska

Recent News

January 21, 2015
Canada Thistle. Photo courtesy of NPS.

Cross-Scale Assessment of Potential Habitat Shifts in a Rapidly Changing Climate

In this recent publication, scientists Catherine Jarnevich, Tracy Holcombe, and Jeff Morisette, et al. assess the ability of climatic, environmental, and anthropogenic variables to predict areas in Alaska that are at high-risk for plant invasion by three species: Canada thistle, white sweetclover, and reed canarygrass.

September 9, 2011

RMA Supports Unmanned Aircraft Systems (UAS) Conference in Alaska

The Alaska Region of DOI National Business Center, Aviation Management Directorate, is hosting the Fourth Annual Alaska UAS Interest Group Conference in Anchorage September 13-15, 2011. Employees associated with the Rocky Mountain Area (RMA)--including Leanne Hanson (FORT), Phil Owen (RMGSC), David Johncox (USGS Aviation Safety Manager), and Lisa Scales (RMGSC)--are providing support for the conference as well as several presentations.

May 2, 2008

FORT Scientist Mentors Winning High School Science Team

Sarah Spaulding, USGS ecologist, mentored a team of students in the Boulder (Colo.) High School Research Seminar. Seniors Anna Hermann, Kelly Lane, and Danielle Pite were selected to present the results of their research at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Atlanta on May 11-16. For their first-place project, "Didymosphenia geminata: The Core Question," the students examined the sediments of Naknek Lake, Katmai National Park, Alaska, to test whether D.

Products by Fiscal Year

Title Author Year Type
Integrating subsistence practice and species distribution modeling: assessing invasive elodea’s potential impact on Native Alaskan subsistence of Chinook salmon and whitefish
Luizza, M. W., P. H. Evangelista, C. S. Jarnevich, A. West, and H. Stewart
2016 Journal Article
The relationship between female brooding and male nestling provisioning: does climate underlie geographic variation in sex roles?
Yoon, J., Sofaer, H.R., Sillett, T.S., Morrison, S.A. and Ghalambor, C.K.
2016 Journal Article
Why You Can’t Ignore Disease When You Reintroduce Animals
Muths, E.L. and H. McCallum
2016 Book, Pages in
Age-specific vibrissae growth rates: A tool for determining the timing of ecologically important events in Steller sea lions
Rea, L.D., A.M. Christ, A.B. Hayden, V.K. Stegall, S.D. Farley, C.A. Stricker, J.E. Mellish, J.M. Maniscalco, J.N. Waite, V.N. Burkanov, and K.W. Pitcher
2015 Journal Article

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cory Drew 970-226-9101 acory@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Keyes Christopher 970-226-9266 ckeyes@usgs.gov Volunteer Social and Economic Analysis
Langin Katie 970-226-9117 klangin@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reese Gordon 970-226-9257 greese@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Schuster Rudy 970-226-9165 schusterr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Swann M. 970-226-9346 swanne@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis