snakes

Recent News

August 6, 2014
A python on a USGS hat

Weather Channel Team to Tour Everglades with USGS Researchers

On August 13-14, 2014 Bryan Falk and Michelle McEachern will be interviewed by a crew from Flight 33 Productions for a Weather Channel documentary on invasive species. Falk and McEachern will discuss the current USGS research on invasive reptiles in the Everglades ecosystem, and will take the film crew into the field to document the USGS research projects on invasive Burmese pythons and Argentine black and white tegus. A release date for the documentary is unknown.

November 29, 2012

Invasive Boa Constrictors Make New Home on Puerto Rico

A newly published research paper, co-authored by USGS scientist Robert Reed and others, documents the establishment of boa constrictors on Puerto Rico. This is the first documented population of a large constrictor snake in a U.S. state or territory outside of Florida. The new population appears to be spreading from its likely point of origin around the city of Mayag├╝ez, in the western part of the island.

August 31, 2012

USGS Herpetologists Featured in Current Herp Journal

The August 2012 issue of Herpetological Conservation and Biology features "A History of Herpetologists and Herpetology in the U.S.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Barnhart Patrick 671-355-4014 pbarnhart@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Services Group Invasive Species Science
Bonewell Lea 970-226-9353 bonewelll@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Collier Michelle 305-242-7820 mmceachern@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Falk Bryan 305-242-7820 bfalk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Hayes Mark 970-226-9456 hayesm@usgs.gov Cooperator - Other Trust Species & Habitats
Hinkle Thomas 671-355-4014 thomas_hinkle@usgs.gov Contractor - CSG Dynamac Invasive Species Science
Hogan Michael 671-355-4014 mhogan@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Services Group Invasive Species Science
Holldorf Elden 671-355-4014 eholldorf@usgs.gov Contractor - CSG Dynamac Invasive Species Science
Kaseman Justine 671-355-4013 jkaseman@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Services Group Invasive Species Science
Klug Page 970-226-9471 pklug@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Knox Adam 671-355-4013 aknox@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Lardner Bjorn 671-355-4015 lardnerb@usgs.gov Contractor - Other Invasive Species Science
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Reed Robert 970-226-9464 reedr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Robinson Charlotte 671-355-4014 crobinson@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Services Group Invasive Species Science
Rodda Gordon 970-226-9471 roddag@usgs.gov Volunteer Invasive Species Science
Savidge Julie Cooperator - CSU Invasive Species Science
Viernes Marijoy 671-355-4014 mviernes@usgs.gov Contractor - Student Services Invasive Species Science
Yackel Adams Amy 970-226-9489 yackela@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science