snakes

Recent News

September 3, 2015
Protect Palau from the Brown Treesnake flyer

Brown Treesnake Flyer Distributed on Palau

As a precautionary measure and to educate the public about the risk of the invasive Brown Treesnake (Boiga irregularis) invading Palau, the USGS BrownTreesnake Rapid Response Coordinator (Adam Knox, FORT) is working in collaboration with the government of Palau to disseminate a flyer entitled "Protect Palau from the Brown Treesnake." One thousand copies will be distributed in the Palau newspaper on September 4, 2015. The flyer provides a description of the snake, observable differenc

August 6, 2014
A python on a USGS hat

Weather Channel Team to Tour Everglades with USGS Researchers

On August 13-14, 2014 Bryan Falk and Michelle McEachern will be interviewed by a crew from Flight 33 Productions for a Weather Channel documentary on invasive species. Falk and McEachern will discuss the current USGS research on invasive reptiles in the Everglades ecosystem, and will take the film crew into the field to document the USGS research projects on invasive Burmese pythons and Argentine black and white tegus. A release date for the documentary is unknown.

November 29, 2012

Invasive Boa Constrictors Make New Home on Puerto Rico

A newly published research paper, co-authored by USGS scientist Robert Reed and others, documents the establishment of boa constrictors on Puerto Rico. This is the first documented population of a large constrictor snake in a U.S. state or territory outside of Florida. The new population appears to be spreading from its likely point of origin around the city of Mayagüez, in the western part of the island.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Barnhart Patrick 671-355-4014 pbarnhart@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Bonewell Lea 970-226-9353 bonewelll@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Collier Michelle 305-242-7834 mmceachern@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Falk Bryan 305-242-7820 bfalk@usgs.gov USGS Invasive Species Science
Hayes Mark 970-226-9456 hayesm@usgs.gov Cooperator - Other Invasive Species Science
Hinkle Thomas 671-355-4014 thomas_hinkle@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Hogan Michael 671-355-4014 mhogan@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Holldorf Elden 671-355-4014 eholldorf@usgs.gov Contractor - CSG Dynamac Invasive Species Science
Kaseman Justine 671-355-4013 jkaseman@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Knox Adam 671-355-4013 aknox@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Lardner Bjorn 671-355-4015 lardnerb@usgs.gov Contractor - Other Invasive Species Science
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Narzynski Annette 671-355-4014 anarzynski@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Reed Robert 970-226-9464 reedr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Robinson Charlotte 671-355-4014 crobinson@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Invasive Species Science
Rodda Gordon 970-226-9471 roddag@usgs.gov Volunteer Invasive Species Science
Savidge Julie jsavidge@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Invasive Species Science
Viernes Marijoy 671-355-4014 mviernes@usgs.gov Contractor - Student Services Invasive Species Science
Yackel Adams Amy 970-226-9489 yackela@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science