monitoring

Recent News

March 24, 2016
An observer counting male Greater sage-grouse at a lek site in Wyoming. Photo by tom Christiansen..

New Paper Compares Lek Count Protocols for Monitoring Greater Sage-grouse Population Trends

Annual counts of male Greater Sage-Grouse (Centrocercus urophasianus) displaying at lek sites are an important resource for monitoring populations of this species, but seasonal and diurnal variation in lek attendance may increase variance and bias of trend analyses.

June 8, 2015

A Plan for the North American Bat Monitoring Program (NABat)

The purpose of the North American Bat Monitoring Program (NABat) is to create a continent-wide program to monitor bats (Chiroptera) at the local to rangewide scales that will provide reliable data to promote effective conservation decision-making and the long-term viability of bat populations across the continent.

July 25, 2012

Is Brine Just Fine? USGS Scientist Helps Evaluate Demonstration Wetland Test

The Southern California Area Office of the Bureau of Reclamation is supporting the involvement of USGS botanist Joan Daniels, a wetland specialist who is helping to monitor and evaluate a constructed wetland in Oxnard, CA. The wetland demonstration project at the City of Oxnard's wastewater recycling plant is part of an effort to discover if "reject water" from the plant's process can be used to help restore wetlands habitat.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Aldridge Cameron 970-226-9433 aldridgec@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Ecosystem Dynamics
Allen Craig 505-672-3861 x720 craig_allen@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Anderson Pat 970-226-9488 andersonpj@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Assal Timothy 970-226-9134 assalt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Bowen Zachary 970-226-9218 bowenz@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Carr Natasha 970-226-9446 carrn@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Carter Sarah 970-226-9355 skcarter@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cullinane Thomas Catherine 970-226-9164 ccullinanethomas@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Drummond Mark 970-226-9374 (Ft. Collins) madrummond@usgs.gov USGS Federal Interdisciplinary
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Fancher Tammy 970-226-9306 fanchert@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Germaine Stephen 970-226-9107 germaines@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Haffey Collin 505-954-2252 chaffey@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Iko William 970-226-9270 ikob@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Office of the Center Director
Jarnevich Catherine 970-226-9439 jarnevichc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Manier Daniel 970-226-9466 manierd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Margolis Ellis 505-954-2251 emargolis@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Melcher Cynthia 970-226-9376 melcherc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
O'Donnell Michael 970-226-9407 odonnellm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Ouren Douglas 970-226-9476 ourend@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Ruth Janet 505-277-0180 janet_ruth@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Saher Dorothy 970-226-9130 saherj@usgs.gov Contractor - Colorado State University Ecosystem Dynamics
Schoenecker Kathryn 970-226-9329 schoeneckerk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Scott Michael 970-226-9475 scottm@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Shafroth Patrick 970-226-9327 shafrothp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Skagen Susan 970-226-9461 skagens@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Social and Economic Analysis
Sofaer Helen 970-226-9173 hsofaer@usgs.gov Federal - Other Invasive Species Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Zeigenfuss Linda 509-427-9521 linda_zeigenfuss@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics