endangered species

Recent News

May 21, 2014
Dean Biggins receives a Recovery Champions Award from the USFWS

USGS Research Wildlife Biologist receives Recovery Champions Award from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Dean Biggins, a research wildlife biologist at the Fort Collins Science Center, was a recent recipient of the US Fish and Wildlife Service "Recovery Champions Award." This award is presented to individuals who have contributed significantly toward the conservation and recovery of an endangered species. For over 30 years, Dean has conducted research on the endangered black-footed ferret.

August 13, 2012

USGS Scientists Participate on Multiple Levels at Herpetology Congress

FORT scientists Bob Reed and Erin Muths are participating in the 7th World Congress of Herpetology in Vancouver, BC, August 8-14. Dr. Muths will be presenting a talk at the ARMI symposium, "Frequency of Skipped breeding opportunities to Breed in Common Toads," chairing a workshop for graduate students, and attending the board meeting for the Society for the Study of Amphibians as one of their editors. Dr.

September 26, 2011

Black-footed Ferret Recovery: 30 Years since Meeteetse

On September 26, 1981, a ranch dog named Shep caught an odd-looking weasel on a working cattle ranch near Meeteetse, Wyoming, single-"handedly" rediscovering what was thought to be an extinct species. Verified as a black-footed ferret by federal curator Dr. Robert Finley, the specimen was preserved for perpetuity as BS/FC 7934 in the Biological Surveys Collection, now located in Albuquerque, NM, and overseen by USGS Collection Manager Cindy Ramotnik.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Biggins Dean 970-226-9467 bigginsd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Bonewell Lea 970-226-9353 bonewelll@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Cade Brian 970-226-9326 cadeb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Daniels Joan 303-236-5335 joan_daniels@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Eads David 970-226-9261 deads@usgs.gov Cooperator - CSU Trust Species & Habitats
Falk Bryan 305-242-7820 bfalk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Fike Jennifer 970-226-9199 fikej@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Hanson Leanne 970-226-9262 hansonl@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Holmquist-Johnson Christopher 970-226-9382 h-johnsonc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Muths Erin 970-226-9474 muthse@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Aquatic Systems
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Reed Robert 970-226-9464 reedr@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science
Rodda Gordon 970-226-9471 roddag@usgs.gov Volunteer Invasive Species Science
Roelle James 970-226-9435 roelleb@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Ruth Janet 505-277-0180 janet_ruth@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Schoenecker Kathryn 970-226-9329 schoeneckerk@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Ecosystem Dynamics
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Talbert Colin 970-226-9425 talbertc@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Yackel Adams Amy 970-226-9489 yackela@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Invasive Species Science