Bats

Recent News

October 23, 2017

Bat Week is Here!

Bat Week is an annual, international celebration of the role of bats in nature. This week (Oct 24-31) multiple agencies are involved in promoting bat-related activities and events around the country.  FORT participated in a series of meetings and provided information about various bat research that is ongoing at FORT, as well as the North American Bat Monitoring Program, or NABat, a multiagency program coordinated by FORT scientist Brian Reichert. 

May 26, 2016
2016 BioBlitz, Photo courtesy of USGS.

2016 BioBlitz – A Successful Campaign

For two days last week, 4 current staff members of the Fort Collins Science Center (Ernie Valdez, Paul Cryan, Collin Haffey, Craig Allen) and 4 former/retired (Laura Ellison, Cindy Ramotnik, Mike Bogan, Tom O'Shea) participated in a BioBlitz at Bandelier National Monument. During a BioBlitz, members of the public team-up with experts in particular taxa to identify as many species as possible.

January 21, 2016
A Mexican long-tongued bat. Photo by Paul Cryan, USGS.

Research Biologist Paul Cryan Talks Bat Mortality with Reporter

Paul Cryan, FORT Research Biologist, spoke with Stephanie Paige Ogburn of KUNC on January 21, 2016, after the recent release of an article that he co-authored with USGS emeritus scientist Tom O'Shea entitled, “Multiple mortality events in bats: a global review.” They discussed the differences in bat mortality today and historically.

Staff

Last First Phone Email Agency Affiliation
Brown Donald 970-226-9155 brownd@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Cryan Paul 970-226-9389 cryanp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Dawson Scott 970-226-9185 dawsons@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Everette Anthony 970-226-9225 everettel@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Information Science
Novacek Aaron 970-226-9166 anovacek@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
O'Shea Thomas 970-226-9397 osheat@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Oyler-McCance Sara 970-226-9197 sara_oyler-mccance@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Shapiro Lisa 970-226-9208 eshapiro@usgs.gov Contractor - Cherokee Nation Technology Information Science
Stanley Thomas 970-226-9360 stanleyt@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stevens Patricia 970-226-9499 stevensp@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Stricker Craig 303-236-7908 cstricker@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats
Valdez Ernest 505-277-0284 ernie@usgs.gov USGS (FORT) Trust Species & Habitats